The Big Six in Ghana

This new currency features the “big six,” key politicians who fought for Ghana’s independence. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, born in 1901 and died in 1972, was Ghana’s first president and prime minister, leading the country to independence in 1957. The United Gold Coast Convention (UGCC) was the first political party formed in 1949 to pursue independence. Nkrumah joined but left to form the Convention People’s Party (CPP), advocating for swift independence. He declared Ghana independent on March 6, 1957. Though he aimed to unite Africa under the United States of Africa, Nkrumah was ousted in a 1966 coup linked to the CIA according to his book.